July 27, 2021

SEO, Wordpress Support & Insurance, Mortgage, Loans, Legal, Etc Blogs

SEO, Wordpress Support & Insurance, Mortgage, Loans, Legal, Etc Blogs

, SEO, Wordpress Support & Insurance, Mortgage, Loans, Legal, Etc Blogs

Driving Without Insurance in North Dakota – Bankrate

Share This :
, SEO, Wordpress Support & Insurance, Mortgage, Loans, Legal, Etc Blogs
, SEO, Wordpress Support & Insurance, Mortgage, Loans, Legal, Etc Blogs

Car insurance in North Dakota is not only legally required, it is also strongly recommended as a means of financial protection. In 2019 there were 14,221 crashes and 100 fatalities in North Dakota, according to the North Dakota Department of Transportation. In addition, an estimated 13% of the state’s drivers are uninsured, which presents a huge financial risk if you are involved in a collision with an uninsured driver. Given the risks involved, it is important to understand what are the consequences of driving without insurance in North Dakota.

Minimum insurance required in North Dakota

State law requires drivers to carry liability, uninsured motorist and Personal Injury Protection. The amount of insurance North Dakota state laws require for each include:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured motorist coverage bodily liability: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured motorist coverage property damage: $25,000 per accident
  • Personal injury protection: $30,000 per person

Penalties for driving without insurance in North Dakota

Drivers convicted of driving without insurance in North Dakota will first be given a ticket for having no insurance. In the state, this offense is considered a class B misdemeanor. If convicted, the first offense will result in a mandatory fine of at least $150. Subsequent offenses may incur higher penalties and fines, or the removal of your license plate and up to 30 days imprisonment.

Whether it is the first offense or a repeat incident, drivers caught driving without insurance are also required to file an SR-22 with the DOT. Additional fees may be incurred for the court and processing requirements. Licenses are suspended until an SR-22 is filed. Know that even if you file an SR-22 and get your license back, if you cancel your policy before one year has elapsed, your insurance provider will notify the DOT and your license will be suspended again. If this happens, the 1 year clock, which is the minimum amount of time you must have an SR-22 in North Dakota, will be reset.

Fees from north dakota’s online insurance verification system

North Dakota does not currently have an online insurance verification system in place. If you are pulled over and asked to show proof insurance, however, you must comply. Print or digital proof of insurance will both suffice in the state of North Dakota.

Getting into an accident without insurance

Driving without insurance and being involved in a crash will likely result in having your license suspended and an SR-22 requirement put into place. Though the minimum fine for a first offense is $150, the maximum amount you may have to pay is around $1,000.

North Dakota is a no-fault state, which means drivers are responsible for their own medical and repair costs after an accident. Yes, it is still possible to sue, but drivers are only allowed to sue for the amount they were not at fault, based on the state’s modified comparative fault rule. Therefore, if the other driver is determined to be 80% responsible for an accident, then you may only sue for 80% of your repair and medical costs. If you are both 50% responsible, then neither of you may sue.

Frequently asked questions

What if you provide false insurance information?

If you provide false information to a police officer about your insurance information you may face criminal charges. North Dakota considers driving without insurance to be a serious offense, but has an entire division committed to detecting and dealing with insurance fraud.

If you lie to your insurance provider, you are committing insurance fraud. Drivers may be dishonest to insurance providers in an attempt to either decrease their premium or help them get approved for a policy. This will typically lead to policy termination, and it will usually be much harder to get approved for a policy with another provider.

How much is car insurance in North Dakota?

The average cost of car insurance in North Dakota is $1,264 a year for full coverage. The U.S. average is $1,674, which makes North Dakota about $410 cheaper, based on quoted annual premiums from Quadrant Information Services..

Remember: each driver pays a unique amount for car insurance, so what you pay may be more or less than your state’s average. Insurance companies base premiums on a variety of factors, including:

  • Driving history, including speeding tickets, car accidents and DUIs
  • Insurance history, such as claims history and lapses in coverage
  • State and specific ZIP code
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Type of vehicle

What is an SR-22?

An SR-22 form is merely proof of insurance and is often mandated after a North Dakota driver is caught without insurance — it is not a special type of insurance. Its only purpose is to prove to the North Dakota Department of Transportation that you are adequately insured.

To file an SR-22, you will have to notify your insurance provider that you need an SR-22 sent to NDDOT. If you do not have insurance, or if your current provider does not insure high risk drivers or offer SR-22s, you will need to get a policy with an insurer that is able to accommodate your situation. Filing an SR-22 typically has a one-time fee associated with it as well.

How do I lower my North Dakota car insurance premium?

Financially, it may be much more cost-effective to lower your premium than it would be to face the penalty for driving without insurance in North Dakota. Here are some ways you can reduce your rates at the time of renewal or if obtaining a new policy with another insurer:

  • Improve your credit score — North Dakota allows insurers to use credit history when pricing premiums. If you have a low credit score, it is a likely contributor to higher rates. Improve your credit history and your premium may decrease upon renewal.
  • Drive an older car — Older cars typically cost less to insure than new cars due to the replacement value. Depending on your situation, opting to drive an older model year vehicle can potentially result.
  • Increase your deductible — If you increase your deductible, your monthly premium will go down. However, in the event of a claim, this means you are assuming a higher amount of financial risk. Discuss with a licensed agent what might be a beneficial balance for your situation.
  • Compare discounts — Many national providers offer similar discounts, but do not advertise how much you will save with them. To see how much you will save, speak with an agent while getting a quote so you can accurately price compare two or more companies.
  • Shop around — It is not uncommon for drivers to pick an insurance company based on its commercials and then never price-compare it to anyone else. Insurance companies do not charge the same premiums. This is for many reasons, but the main takeaway is that drivers should always shop around when choosing the best insurance company. Doing so can save hundreds of dollars a year.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Share This :